Customer area or Leadership Support Log In

Country Information


Country Name

conventional long form: Republic of Belarus
conventional short form: Belarus
local long form: Respublika Byelarus’
local short form: Byelarus’
former: Belorussian (Byelorussian) Soviet Socialist Republic

Government Type

republic in name, although in fact a dictatorship



Administrative divisions

6 provinces (voblastsi, singular – voblasts’) and 1 municipality* (horad); Brest, Homyel’, Horad Minsk*, Hrodna, Mahilyow, Minsk, Vitsyebsk
note: administrative divisions have the same names as their administrative centers


25 August 1991 (from Soviet Union)